Parliamentarians Session on Evaluation at the Senate of Philippines

A Parliamentarians Session organized by the Global Parliamentarians Forum for Evaluation (GPFE) in collaboration with UNICEF, Asia-Pacific Evaluation Association (APEA), and PHILDEV was held at the Senate of Philippines during the 2nd APEA International Evaluation Conference on 26 February 2019. The theme of the 2nd APEA International Evaluation Conference was “Reducing Poverty-Enabling Peace: Evaluation for Accountability, Transparency and Sustainable Development.” The aim of the conference is to bring together evaluators, policymakers, public officials, development practitioners, and civil society members in order to build the evaluation capacity, systems and institutions in the Asia-Pacific region. The welcome address of the Parliamentarians Session was delivered by Atty. Myra Marie Villarica, Senate of Philippines. The opening remarks were given by Ms. Ada Ocampo, GPFE Secretariat, Senior Evaluation Specialist, UNICEF Evaluation Office. Further, speeches were given by Professor Romeo Santos, President of APEA and PHILDEV and Ms. Julia Rees, Deputy Country Representative, UNICEF.
The first keynote speech was delivered by Hon. Senator Risa B. Hontiveros, Chairman, Senate Committee on Women, Children, Family Relations and Gender Equality, Senate of the Philippines. Her keynote speech focused on the “Role of the parliamentarians towards evaluation in the context of the Agenda 2030.” Additionally, the second key note speech was delivered by Hon. Kabir Hashim, Minister of Highways & Road Development and Petroleum Resources Development, Sri Lanka and Chair of the GPFE. Hon. Kabir Hashim’s keynote speech was on “The importance of a dialogue between parliamentarians and evaluation community-Are we there yet?”
During the Parliamentarians Session, Parliamentarians/country representatives from Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Cambodia, and Indonesia made presentations on the progress of National Commitments that was agreed with the Colombo Declaration during EvalColombo 2018 on 19 September 2019. Additionally, Hon. M. Thilakarajah, Member of Parliament from Sri Lanka provided a message from Manila participants to the Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU) and Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA). Finally, the closing remarks and final thoughts for the Parliamentarians Session was given by Hon. Kabir Hashim and Ms. Ada Ocampo.


Senate Press release: